PSV feel cheated;Engelaar’s red card overturned

The most dubious moment of the match between Feyenoord and PSV took place in the second half when Orlando Engelaar immediately got sent off. The midfielder floored Luc Castaignos floored with a hard charge and had to take an early shower. PSV coach Fred Rutten and club captain Engelaar feel the punishment was exaggerated.

“I played the ball. Of course I hit the opponent , but there was nothing special going on, ” he said afterwards. “I trust that the referee admitted his error. Maybe my  suspension can be overturned. But now I do not want to talk about the referee’s  decision. I’m afraid I might lose my cool.”

As an Ajax fan I’m glad PSV lost but the referee’s decision was very poor.After the defeat in De Kuip, PSV is very disappointed. “Everything is possible, but it is now very difficult to become champion. We had a very tough match against Feyenoord. We sat back for too long. This gave Feyenoord the opportunity to strike.”

As we had expected at PSV, the KNVB has overturned Orlando Engelaar’s red card .This allows the captain of the Eindhoven team to play against Vitesse on Sunday.
Trailing 1-0 ,the midfielder was sent off. Eventually it became 3-1. In Eindhoven they rightly ask what would have happened if Engelaar was on the field for 90 minutes.Would it have changed the outcome of the game?

Leave a comment